Debating Myself Every Day

Debate is a form of public speaking. I enjoy public speaking. Therefore, I should enjoy debate. That’s what I told myself while going into debate despite my gut telling me that it wasn’t my thing. It really rattled my bones to think that I would have to be arguing against some of the strongest minded people on campus due to the fact that it was full of leadership students. I have to admit that I was intimidated by them.

Since the first day, I have found that I am not so bad at debating. According to my professor, I had some natural talent in it. The class taught me that I have a little something in me that I didn’t know I had. Or perhaps the pressure of being throne into a debate brought out a compilation of skills that turned into makeshift debate skills.

master debaters
For Halloween, a classmate found us selfies from our professor to wear to class.

Either way, I became less tense as time went on. Our professor was a little off his rocker and didn’t really teach us many specifics but it certainly didn’t inhibit me form making some progress. After hundreds of written note cards (literally), the occasional reading to actually know what’s going on, and some unknown debate topics, I’d say I at least (somewhat generally) know how to debate well. Debate is a form of public speaking. I enjoy public speaking. Therefore, I should enjoy debate. I did happen to learn that the thoughts I used to calm myself were actually just a form of the Slippery Slope fallacy.

Debate was almost a necessary evil this past semester. Even though the work load sometimes made me feel unstable, I have made it through as a slightly better person. After all, strength and perseverance are the only things that thrive in the face of adversity. Like my track coach used to always say, “Pain is just weakness leaving the body”.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

