Spark?

Formerly known as the Alpha Lead program, the Spark Series is held in both the fall and spring semesters here at CMU. I attended the fall program this year. Leading up to attending this four week program, I was very unsure of what to expect. I didn’t hear much about it before hand. But then again, I knew that it was supposed to be changing quite dramatically this year.

As far as getting back into the swing of leadership expansion, I would say that Spark did a swell job. My friends and I were able to play familiar games and participate in activities we hadn’t seen in a good while. I definitely had a good time. However, I didn’t feel challenged enough. There were games that are designed to make us uncomfortable, but I’ve played them all before. There were mind challenges that I had solved before. There were team challenges that many of my past teams had already conquered.

sparkAs far as my personal growth went, I have the people to thank. My teammates that I saw once a week each had their own type of personality. They were from all parts of Michigan and further. With different cultures and pasts, we had different and important rolls to play in making each other more understanding. Outside of all that, it is great to see even more people on campus that I can talk to.

I would also like to tell everyone about how amazing the facilitators of this program are. I was pleasantly shocked at how well they got along with every personality type. Each facilitator showed respect, maturity, individuality, and compassion. They lead conversations with fluidity and listened well to remember so much about everyone.

The deja vu threw me off a bit, but the program as a whole was definitely not a waste of time. I can honestly say that I did get to enjoy myself.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

