Yep

I am where I am today because of my decisions. I am where I am going because of the decisions I have yet to make. I didn’t become more or less motivated by someone telling me ‘yes’ or ‘no’. In fact, when there is something that I really desire, I do what I can to reach or attain that goal. Regardless of what I am told, I can make things happen because I say yes.

A question was posed to myself and my peers; Does leadership come from ‘yes’ or ‘no’?

“The tension between ‘yes’ and ‘no’, between ‘I can’ and ‘I cannot’, makes us feel that, in so many instances, human life is an interminable debate with one’s self.”Anatole Broyard

Well I say yes.

We don’t need anyone else to say yes. Sure, it may seem like opportunities become available and doors open when others say yes, but we can’t count on that. Before high school, I liked to live as a victim of circumstance. It was almost easy because teachers were easy on me, and my parents were still looking out for me on basic living tasks. It was rare to be told no or to run into anything drastically life changing in a negative way. So when it did happen, I let that situation get the best of me. Seemingly unexplained guilt would eventually settle into the deepest crevices of my mind and heart after I milked such situations. It wasn’t until I realized I had the power to do important things for myself that I was no longer a victim of circumstance.

I firmly believe that leadership comes from ‘yes’. When I think of leadership attributes I think of courage, determination, compassion, and integrity. Common themes among traits like these involve internal strength and personal wisdom. When there’s a challenge in front of us, as leaders, we should want to say yes. Being able to say yes in the face of adversity shows courage and determination while adding to our internal strength. When faced with a question of doing the right thing, as leaders, we should want to say yes. Being able to say yes to a righteous path while being faced with an easy way out shows integrity and compassion while contributing to our capacity for wisdom.

We must find it within ourselves to say yes to things that scare us, that make us happy, and that create opportunities for ourselves and others.

“To my young friends out there: Life can be great, but not when you can’t see it. So, open your eyes to life: to see it in the vivid colors that God gave us as a precious gift to His children, to enjoy life to the fullest, and to make it count. Say yes to your life.” – Nancy Reagan

So I say yes.

yes

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

